Maharashtra Election 2019 Voting LIVE Updates: Voting across all 288 assembly constituencies, Satara LS seat begins - LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

 LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

खबरें जो सच बोले


Monday, 21 October 2019

Maharashtra Election 2019 Voting LIVE Updates: Voting across all 288 assembly constituencies, Satara LS seat begins

06:59 (IST)

Mumbai turns into fortress as state elects fresh Assembly; 269 polling booths deemed critical

In Mumbai city alone, more than 40,000 personnel will be deployed along with 22 companies of the Central Para-Military Forces, a Mumbai Police spokesperson said. Among the 1,536 polling centres in Mumbai district, 269 centers are declared as critical and vulnerable.
"A strong police vigil will be maintained in those locations. There is not a single vulnerable or critical polling centre in suburbs of Mumbai," he said. As part of preventive action, police have taken bonds from 3860 persons under section 107 of CRPC and 1279 persons under section 110.
At least 164 persons have been externed from Mumbai while four persons have been booked under Maharashtra Prevention of Dangerous Activities (MPDA) Act, he said.

06:55 (IST)

From CRPF, Home Guard to Naga women police force, EC deploys heavy security for Maharashtra polls

Over three lakh security personnel from local police as well as Central forces will be deployed in Maharashtra to ensure incident-free voting for assembly polls. 

Apart from two lakh personnel from Maharashtra Police, 350 companies of Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Nagaland Women Police Force (NWPF) will be deployed, he said. Besides, at least 100 companies of the State Reserve Police Force (SRPF) and around 45,000 jawans of the State Home Guards will be on guard 24-hours, he said, adding services of 20,000 Home Guard jawans of other states are also sought.

06:42 (IST)

Minutes before Maharashtra, Haryana goes to poll, Congress' Digvijaya Singh raises EVM issue 

"Here is how EVM-VVPAT can be manipulated due to a major technical glitch. EC is aware of lacuna but continues to be silent. If the CEC still insists on EVMs then I have a request. After pressing the button on ballot unit instead the Voter seeing the picture on the screen for 7 seconds the printer should give the Voter printed vote in his hand which he can physically put in a ballot box. Now the argument put forward by CEC would be that the counting would take a lot of time. As it stands today CEC picks up 5 booths randomly and checks the printed vote as per Supreme Court order," Madhya Pradesh Congress heavy-weight tweeted. 

06:35 (IST)

In Pictures: Polling officials in an early morning hustle to ensure voting starts on time

A total of 6.5 lakh polling personnel have been deployed at 96,661 polling booths across the state to ensure a smooth voting process and a free and fair election. Nearly 1,35,021 VVPAT (voter verifiable paper audit trail) machines have also been installed. Polling officials in Mumbai can be seen busy in preparations to ensure Mumbai polling booths are open on time

06:28 (IST)

Meanwhile, NCP fights a prestige battle in Satara Lok Sabha by-election


Voting is also underway for the by-election to Satara Lok Sabha constituency, where former NCP leader and sitting MP​ Udayanraje Bhosale is in the fray on BJP's ticket against​ Shriniwas Patil of the Congress-NCP combine. The seat, once an unchallenged bastion for the Sharad Pawar-led Nationalist Congress Party is currently held by the saffron party. 

On one hand, BJP is eyeing Satara as its gateway to western Maharashtra. On the other hand, the NCP is trying best to retain its stronghold in the sugar belt following large-scale defection after the general elections. 

06:14 (IST)

Maharashtra to elect new Assembly today; BJP-Shiv Sena seek second straight term

Polling will be held on Monday in all 288 Assembly constituencies of Maharashtra where 3,237 candidates, including 235 women, are in the fray. The voting will be held from 7 am to 6 pm.

The ruling BJP has fielded its nominees in 164 Assembly seats, including candidates of smaller allies contesting on its lotus symbol, while the Sena is contesting 124 seats. On the other hand, the opposition Congress has fielded 147 candidates and its ally NCP 121.

The main contest is between the 'Mahayuti' or grand alliance led by the BJP, and the 'maha-aghadi' (front) led by the Congress and NCP.

Maharashtra Election 2019 Latest Update: Voting in single-phase Assembly elections in Maharashtra has begun. The state, which is also due to elect its Satara Lok Sabha MP, will see a pitched battle between Mahayuti (Shiv Sena and BJP alliance) and NCP and Congress combine.

Voting is scheduled to begin at 7 am at all polling booths, the Election Commission of India said. The term for the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly ends on 9 November.

In Maharashtra, the Congress and NCP have already figured a seat-sharing plan, the parties will fight about 123-125 seats each and leave 41 for smaller allies, said Congress' Prithviraj Chavan. Depending on consensus between the parties, the seats may be swapped, Chavan was quoted as saying.

Representational image. AP

Representational image. AP

According to the data provided by the Election Commission, in Maharashtra, there are 8,95,62,706 voters, of which 8,94,46,211 are general electors and 1,16,495 are service voters. Up from 90,403 in 2014, the number of polling booths where people can cast their vote in Maharashtra has gone up to 95,473, reflecting an increase of 5.61 percent.

This is the first state Assembly election since Narendra Modi led the BJP to power at the Centre for a second term in May. The Assembly elections are also the first since the government announced the abrogation of provisions of Article 370 granting special status to Jammu and Kashmir and bifurcation of the state into two Union Territories.

Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis said that the BJP will retain power and he will continue to hold the chief minister's post. He also confirmed that the BJP and Shiv Sena will be in alliance for the upcoming elections and added that the seat-sharing formula would be revealed soon.

"I am saying with no uncertainty that we will contest the Assembly polls along with Shiv Sena. The seat-sharing talks are still on, do not trust the reports," Fadnavis said while speaking at the "India Today Conclave 2019" being held in Mumbai.

Talks between the two parties have not reached a conclusion, as the BJP wants to fight a larger share of the 288 Assembly seats while the Sena wants it to stick to the earlier agreed formula that both will contest an equal number of constituencies.

Both parties could not agree to a seat-sharing deal even in the 2014 polls, leading to them fighting the elections separately. The BJP won 122 seats and the Sena 63 seats. They joined hands after the polls to form a government.

With inputs from agencies

October 21, 2019 at 07:05AM

No comments:

Post a comment