Chhatarpur Assembly Election Result 2019: BJP’s Pushpa Devi wins constituency, defeats RJD’s Vijay Kumar by 26,918 votes votes - LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

 LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

खबरें जो सच बोले


Wednesday, 25 December 2019

Chhatarpur Assembly Election Result 2019: BJP’s Pushpa Devi wins constituency, defeats RJD’s Vijay Kumar by 26,918 votes votes

Chhatarpur Assembly Elections 2019: BJP leader Pushpa Devi has wrested the Chhatarpur Assembly constituency by defeating RJD’s Vijay Kumar. Pushpa Devi won the election by 26,918 votes.

A total of 1,62,802 were polled, of which Pushpa Devi received 63,956 votes whereas Kumar received 37,038 votes.

Earlier on Monday, conceding loss in the Assembly polls, outgoing Jharkhand chief minister Raghubar Das said it was his defeat, not of the BJP.

As per the latest trends available on the Election Commission website, Das was trailing BJP rebel candidate and former minister Saryu Roy by over 10,000 votes in Jamshedpur (East) constituency. "It is not BJP's defeat, it is my defeat," Das told reporters at a press conference.

The BJP contested 79 seats, supported an Independent candidate in one constituency and did not put up nominee against AJSU Party president Sudesh Mahto.

The saffron party's Bihar allies — the JD(U) and LJP — contested the elections on their own and none of their candidates was leading anywhere.

A reserved seat for the Scheduled Castes, the Assembly constituency of Chhatarpur falls in the Palamu district of Jharkhand. Assembly Constituency number 79, Chhatarpur went go to polls in the first phase of Jharkhand Assembly Elections on 30 November, along with 12 other seats. The results were be announced on 23, December 2019.

The seat saw an interesting contest between allies Bharatiya Janata Party and All Jharkhand Students Union Party (AJSU) as the sitting legislator of the national party, Radhakrishna Kishore, defected to its regional ally after he was a denied a ticket from the seat.

Following is a brief description of the Assembly constituency (as of 2014):

Constituency number: 78

Total electors: 2,40,087

Voter turnout in last Assembly Election: 59.59 percent (1,43,077)

Polling stations: 278

Major parties in the fray: NCP , RJD , BSP, BJP, JMM, Congress are the major parties active in this constituency.

Results in the last three elections: The constituency was under Janata Dal (United)'s control since the formation of the state in 2009. However, that changed in 2014 under the Modi wave when a JD(U) turncoat, Radha Krishna Kishore wrest free the seat from the socialist party.  He is a former JD(U) MLA and had joined the BJP just before the announcement of the poll dates. He won the 2014 polls with a margin of 5,881 votes. This year he has switched over to the AJSU and BJP has fielded its state unit president Laxman Gilua. AJSU has not yet clarified whether it will field Kishore from the seat or not.

JD(U)'s Sudha Choudhary won the assembly elections of 2009. She defeated her nearest rival Manoj Kumar of JMM (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha) by 9,746. Choudhary bagged 25854 votes as against Kumar's 16108 votes. In 2005, it was won by Kishore on a JD(U) ticket.

December 25, 2019 at 02:10PM

No comments:

Post a comment