Jharkhand Assembly Election, Jugsalai profile: Main contest between AJSU's Ram Chandra Sahis and JMM's Mangal Kalindi in SC constituency - LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

 LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

खबरें जो सच बोले


Friday, 6 December 2019

Jharkhand Assembly Election, Jugsalai profile: Main contest between AJSU's Ram Chandra Sahis and JMM's Mangal Kalindi in SC constituency

Jugsalai Assembly Elections 2019 | Reserved under Scheduled Caste category, the Jugsalai Assembly constituency will go the polls in the second phase of the Jharkhand Assembly Election on 7 December. Jugsalai is part of the Jamshedpur Parliamentary constituency and is said to be a JMM bastion, however, AJSU has won the election from the seat in the last two elections.

The main contest in the Assembly constituency is likely between JMM and AJSU. While the AJSU has fielded the incumbent MLA Ram Chandra Sahis, JMM has brought 2014 runner-up Mangal Kalindi back in the fray.

File image of incumbent Jugsalai MLA and AJSU leader Ram Chandra Sahis. Twitter@RCSahis

Past three election results

Dulal Bhuiyan had won the constituency in the 2005 Assembly election contesting on a JMM ticket. In the 2009 election, AJSU wrested the seat from Bhuiyan with its candidate Ram Chandra Sahis winning from the seat. Sahis won the seat again in 2014 and is the incumbent MLA. He had won the election with a margin of over 25,000 votes.

Part of the Jamshedpur parliamentary constituency, Jugsalai is located in the East Singhbhum district of Jharkhand. Also in the fray are BJP's Muchiram Bauri, Shiv Sena's Bablu Ruhidas, BSP's Chaitu Ram, JVM(P)'s Ramchandra Paswan and Bijay Mukhi of the Ambedkarite Party of India.

Following is a brief description of the Assembly constituency (as of 2014):

Constituency number: 47

Voter turnout in last Assembly Election:  67.38 percent

Male voters: 1,55,259

Female voters: 1,47,988

Total voters: 3,03,248

Major parties in the fray

The AJSU, JMM, Congress, JVM(P) and the BSP are the main parties from the seat.

At present, the state is ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in an alliance with the All Jharkhand Students' Union (AJSU) under the leadership of Chief Minister Raghubar Das.

The term of the current Assembly will end on 5 January 2020.

In 2014, the BJP had won 37 seats, while its ally AJSU secured a win in five Assembly seats.

Among the Opposition parties, the RJD, Congress and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have formed an alliance for the polls under the leadership of JMM chief Hemant Soren. Soren is also the Opposition Alliance's chief ministerial candidate.

The BJP is hoping to retain power in Jharkhand following setbacks and winning fewer seats in both the Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly election as compared to the 2014 polls in the two states. However, several of the NDA allies, including BJP's current Jharkhand alliance partner AJSU, have decided to contest the 2019 Assembly polls on their own. Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) are also contesting the polls solo.

Out of the 81 Assembly constituencies in the state, nine are reserved for Scheduled Castes, 28 for Scheduled Tribes and 44 are of the general category. According to the Election Commission, the state's population stands at 3.2 crore, of which 86 lakh are ST and 39 lakh are ST.

The state has a total number of 2,08,52,808 electors, including Service Voters. As per the electoral rolls in January 2019, there are 1.18 crore male voters, 1.08 crore female voters and 40,336 service voters.

The number of polling stations in 2014 were 24,803.

After Maharashtra and Haryana, Jharkhand is the third state to go to polls since Prime Minister Narendra Modi won the Lok Sabha election with a thumping majority in May.

The 82-member Jharkhand Assembly is being held in five phases between 30 November and 20 December with the counting of votes scheduled to take place on 23 December.

December 06, 2019 at 07:15PM

No comments:

Post a comment