Jharkhand Assembly Election, Potka profile: BJP pits Menka Sardar against JMM's Sanjib Sardar in battle for ST category seat - LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

 LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

खबरें जो सच बोले


Friday, 6 December 2019

Jharkhand Assembly Election, Potka profile: BJP pits Menka Sardar against JMM's Sanjib Sardar in battle for ST category seat

Potka Assembly Elections 2019 | The constituency of Potka is likely to see a tough contest between JMM and BJP in the second phase of Jharkhand Assembly election with the traditional rivals pitting their respective candidates from the Sardar community. Historically, the Assembly constituency has always elected a member of the Sardar community as its MLA with BJP (including its former avatar Janata Party) winning five of the nine elections since 1977.

This election too, the main contest is between BJP candidate and incumbent MLA Menka Sardar and JMM's candidate is Sanjib Sardar. Menka has won the seat three times — 2000, 2009 and 2014 — in the past. She had defeated Sanjib in the 2014 election with a margin of 6,706 votes.

Part of the Jamshedpur parliamentary constituency, Potka, located in the East Singhbhum district of Jharkhand, will go the polls in the second phase of the Jharkhand Assembly Election on 7 December.

Reserved for Scheduled Tribes, Potka constituency has more female voters than male voters.

For the upcoming Assembly election, also in the fray are Ishwar Soren on a JD(U) ticket, Bulu Rani Singh on AJSU ticket and Naresh Kumar Murmu on JVM(P) ticket.

Representational image. Reuters

Following is a brief description of the Assembly constituency (as of 2014):

Constituency number: 46

Voter turnout in last Assembly Election: 68.71 percent

Male voters: 1,35,255

Female voters: 1,35,348

Total voters: 2,70,603

Major parties in the fray

The BJP, JMM, JVM(P), JD(U) and AJSU are the main parties from the seat.

At present, the state is ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in an alliance with the All Jharkhand Students' Union (AJSU) under the leadership of Chief Minister Raghubar Das.

The term of the current Assembly will end on 5 January 2020.

In 2014, the BJP had won 37 seats, while its ally AJSU secured a win in five Assembly seats.

Among the Opposition parties, the RJD, Congress and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have formed an alliance for the polls under the leadership of JMM chief Hemant Soren. Soren is also the Opposition Alliance's chief ministerial candidate.

The BJP is hoping to retain power in Jharkhand following setbacks and winning fewer seats in both the Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly election as compared to the 2014 polls in the two states. However, several of the NDA allies, including BJP's current Jharkhand alliance partner AJSU, have decided to contest the 2019 Assembly polls on their own. Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) are also contesting the polls solo.

Out of the 81 Assembly constituencies in the state, nine are reserved for Scheduled Castes, 28 for Scheduled Tribes and 44 are of the general category. According to the Election Commission, the state's population stands at 3.2 crore, of which 86 lakh are ST and 39 lakh are ST.

The state has a total number of 2,08,52,808 electors, including Service Voters. As per the electoral rolls in January 2019, there are 1.18 crore male voters, 1.08 crore female voters and 40,336 service voters.

The number of polling stations in 2014 were 24,803.

After Maharashtra and Haryana, Jharkhand is the third state to go to polls since Prime Minister Narendra Modi won the Lok Sabha election with a thumping majority in May this year.

The 82-member Jharkhand Assembly is being held in five phases between 30 November and 20 December with the counting of votes scheduled to take place on 23 December.

December 06, 2019 at 06:55PM

No comments:

Post a comment