Jharkhand Assembly Election, Saraikella profile: JMM's Champai Soren seeks sixth consecutive term, faces AJSU's Anant Ram Tudu - LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

 LiveNow24x7: Latest News, breaking news, 24/7 news,live news

खबरें जो सच बोले


Wednesday, 4 December 2019

Jharkhand Assembly Election, Saraikella profile: JMM's Champai Soren seeks sixth consecutive term, faces AJSU's Anant Ram Tudu

Saraikella Assembly Elections 2019 | The constituency of Saraikella, located in the Saraikela Kharsawan district of Jharkhand, will go to polls in the second phase of the Jharkhand Assembly Election on 7 December.

The constituency, reserved for Scheduled Tribes, is presently represented by Champai Soren of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM). As noted in this report in The Telegraph, Seraikela is a major automobile hub in the region, and the slowdown in the automobile sector is likely to have an impact in the region. The report quoted Soren as saying that he will "focus on the wrong policies of the BJP government which led to the auto slowdown."

In the upcoming election, Soren will take on the AJSU's Anant Ram Tudu.

Results in previous three elections

The Saraikella Assembly constituency has elected the same person — Champai Soren of the JMM — as an MLA for the past five terms. Since 2005, Soren won all three elections against the BJP. While the main rival candidate in 2005 and 2009 was Laxhman Tudu, the rival candidate in 2014 was Ganesh Mahali.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

Following is a brief description of the Assembly constituency (as of 2014):

Constituency number: 51

Voter turnout in last Assembly Election: 72 percent

Major parties in the fray

The BJP, JD(U), JMM, JVM, CPI, SP, BSP and Marxist Co-ordination are the main parties from the seat.

At present, the state is ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in an alliance with the All Jharkhand Students' Union (AJSU) under the leadership of Chief Minister Raghubar Das.

The term of the current Assembly will end on 5 January 2020.

In 2014, the BJP had won 37 seats, while its ally AJSU secured a win in five Assembly seats.

Among the Opposition parties, the RJD, Congress and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have formed an alliance for the polls under the leadership of JMM chief Hemant Soren. Soren is also the Opposition Alliance's chief ministerial candidate.

The BJP is hoping to retain power in Jharkhand following setbacks and winning fewer seats in both the Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly election as compared to the 2014 polls in the two states. However, several of the NDA allies, including BJP's current Jharkhand alliance partner AJSU, have decided to contest the 2019 Assembly polls on their own. Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) are also contesting the polls solo.

Out of the 81 Assembly constituencies in the state, nine are reserved for Scheduled Castes, 28 for Scheduled Tribes and 44 are of the general category. According to the Election Commission, the state's population stands at 3.2 crore, of which 86 lakh are ST and 39 lakh are ST.

The state has a total number of 2,08,52,808 electors, including Service Voters. As per the electoral rolls in January 2019, there are 1.18 crore male voters, 1.08 crore female voters and 40,336 service voters.

The number of polling stations in 2014 were 24,803.

After Maharashtra and Haryana, Jharkhand is the third state to go to polls since Prime Minister Narendra Modi won the Lok Sabha election with a thumping majority in May this year.

The 82-member Jharkhand Assembly is being held in five phases between 30 November and 20 December with the counting of votes scheduled to take place on 23 December.

December 04, 2019 at 09:21PM

No comments:

Post a comment